Monday thought of the week: and then I had kids

A thought:

I’ve always been passionate about spending time in nature. I’m less tense, more in tune with my body, and motivated to take better care of it. In particular, I love a good hike. Before children came along, I was an avid hiker – not an expert or anything – but it was a regular part of my life. And then I had kids…

Finding time and motivation to hit the trails was difficult for me. But I recognized how much better my children behave, eat, and sleep if we run around, climb trees, splash in puddles.

– Jeanine Silversmith, “How (and why) I Started a Family Nature Club” The New Nature Movement (C&NN, August 23, 2012)

This entry was posted in thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

