REVIEW: Nature Kids documentary (& Giveaway!)

ProductImage.ASPI have previously mentioned the documentary Nature Kids (website/Facebook/Twitter) several times on this blog. I am happy to share that the film is completed and available on DVD or view-on-demand. The film looks at the concern over loss of nature connection in today’s youth, and interviews educators and researchers about the topic. It is very well-made, and the passion of its filmmaker (Kenny Ballentine) comes through beautifully. I appreciate how the film stresses the importance of nature connection by interviewing experts, and then shows it through various perspectives in footage of kids actually enjoying nature. It also talks about the detriments of our technology-driven society (devices and video games for kids, especially), but in a less somber tone than another children and nature film I’ve seen. Here’s the trailer for Nature Kids:

Doesn’t the second half of that trailer just make you want to turn off your computer and head outside?

Purchasing options are here, and Kenny is also available for workshops. I met Kenny last year as he was traveling through Portland when on the road doing some filming for Nature Kids. We sat down and chatted about our own kids and why we strive to connect them to nature. I was surprised to see my name in the acknowledgments for the film, thank you Kenny!

Nature Kids

The giveaway:

To enter for a chance to win one of two DVDs of Nature Kids, please comment on this post telling me a favorite nature experience you had as a child, or one that you have shared with your own child/ren. From the entries I will randomly pick two winners. Entries open to U.S. residents only. The contest will be open until Sunday, November 24, midnight PST. If you would like to enter without commenting, you can send me an email at darwinsbulldog AT gmail DOT com. Good luck!

This entry was posted in audio/video, documentary, education, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to REVIEW: Nature Kids documentary (& Giveaway!)

  1. Many of my most memorable child hood memories resulted from me spending time in a maturing long leaf pine forest. On brisk autumn mornings I loved to walk through the forest looking at the rays of sunlight piercing the tree canopy and illuminating the forest floor which was completely covered in pine needles with very little undergrowth. As a child it looked like a fairy tale or scenery from an adventure movie. I would spend hours in that forest by myself and with my older brother making new discoveries at ever turn.

  2. Deirdre says:

    I love taking my children out hiking in the mountains. My favourite Mother’s Day was a hike the 3 of us did together, the kids were so adventurous climbing on the rocks and checking everything out. We bond so well out there and my son visibly relaxes! I also loved a late summer hike we did when my daughter and I found so many different types of mushrooms. It was incredible watching her check them all out and teaching her about them. The same hike my son ran ahead conducting boy business with the other boys. Mostly involving sticks.

    • darwinsbulldog says:

      Congratulations, you won one of the two copies of the Nature Kids DVD. Thank you for your comment. I emailed you requesting your mailing address, and I’ll send it to the filmmaker so he can send you a copy!

  3. John Gilliam says:

    When I was a child in the 70’s, my neighborhood in my small town was filled with kids. We’d often walk to the end of the block, where we’d reach the country. From there, we’d follow a creek that took us to a railroad bridge. We’d hop on the tracks and go as far as we could, usually two or three miles. We would throw rocks in the creek, collect odd looking “monkey balls” that we now know were hedge apples, play imaginary games and just hang out. We’d build forts and bring sack lunches and have picnics. When the snow came, we’d build enormous igloos and hang out inside of them… or turn them into snow forts. We only came home for meals and when the street lights turned on. It was so magical and deeply spiritual.

  4. Pingback: REVIEW: Nature Kids documentary (& Giveaway!) | cache hownds adventures

  5. Sadly I do not live in the U.S. (however I would be will to pay for shipping if I win, or have it shipped to an america friend)
    My favorite memories as a child were
    -camping, my parents would load our boat up with all the supplies, a folding picnic table, and the dogs, and off we would go to a site only accessible by boat.
    -riding my bike in the woods
    -in the summer months clearing bush and fallen tress to make sledding trails
    -skipping rocks on the lake
    -breaking rooks open looking for jewels
    Now with my son, we going hiking,and geocaching. When ever we travel we make our road side stops at places that we can show him the nature we are surrounded by, he LOVES it when we stop at waterfalls. He loves to help us garden and try new foods that we harvest from our garden.

  6. I’m not in the U.S but would love to share.

    My favourite memories here in NZ were paddling out in our creek across the road from us to find water cress for dinner, when I would get out I would have around 5 leeches stuck to me. I didn’t even like water cress, just the experience.
    I had the toughest feet around, I would hop my way along rocks at the beach which were covered in oysters.
    At school we would play families in the trees.
    I would race my dog around the house, climb up the “Secret” tree and wait for my friend to turn up after school. Then we’d go eeling. I’d watch my brother get rich of selling fruit the elderly, he’d spend his change on lollies.
    We would swim at the lilly pond.
    Ride our bikes or roller blades until dinner time.

    This is what I want for my children..

  7. Pingback: Films about connecting children to nature |

Leave a Reply

