Monday thought of the week: to play safely outside

A thought:

As a father, I want to protect my kids but my answer can’t be keeping them indoors away from harm. Instead, I am focusing my energy on helping them be safer outside. I want my children to be crystal clear on what to do when encountering strangers, wildlife, and dangerous plants. I’m teaching them how to avoid street traffic, and how to properly wear helmets and life vests. By encouraging them to play safely outside, I’m protecting them from a host of much bigger risks — and they’re having a lot more fun too.

– Ben Klasky, “Your Couch Is Far More Dangerous Than You Think,” Huffington Post (April 17, 2014)

This entry was posted in ben klasky, thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

