Monday thought of the week: like a girl

A thought:

As a kid, I had no problem playing in our neighborhood creek for hours, catching tadpoles, getting muddy and climbing trees. But how was I experiencing nature with my daughter? I was generally keeping her in our tidy (most of the time) backyard, playing in the garden (with gloves on of course), and maybe throwing rocks (but not too hard!) in the nearby pond.

I vowed that I would show her that playing in nature like a girl involved more mud, more mess and, possibly, more fun. And the biggest part of my promise to myself was that I would do it with her. I realized I was just like those older women in the video – I had lost my sense of what I loved most about nature, and to find it I’d have to play like that girl who loved the creek.

– Rachel Roberts, “Enjoy Nature Like a Girl,” Nature Rocks (August 4, 2014)

This entry was posted in thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

