Monday thought of the week: a different type of goal

A thought:

A few years ago, I couldn’t have imagined driving 12 hours knowing that these were the type of activities that awaited me. Now I finally understand that I have a different type of goal. A goal that will follow me wherever I bring my son and in everything we do – I need to cultivate and encourage my son’s sense of adventure and wonder. Help him dream big and believe that anything is possible. Build a respect and awe for Mother Nature. Help him understand why he’s collecting stamps showing his visits to National Parks, instead of collecting autographs from fictional characters at Disney.

– Lyndon Scott, “Hiking with Kids: Fatherly Musings in Zion National Park,” HikingGeek.com (April 27, 2015)

This entry was posted in hiking, parenting, thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

