Monday thought of the week: the woods as my playground (& petitions about anti-nature ad from Toys”R”Us)

A thought:

Maybe I’m overreacting to this commercial. Maybe it’s that I grew up with the woods as my playground and I’m thankful for it. Maybe it’s that I’ve spent my entire adult life trying to instill an environmental ethic in everyone around me so that those same kids will have clean air and water to grow up in, too. Maybe it’s that I’ve actually seen (on more occasions than I can count) the sense of awe and wonder and excitement that comes from kids being in the outdoors. Maybe I’m just getting old and cynical myself. I hope not. I have no biting wit with which to finish. I just want to say: I think there’s a better world than the one portrayed in this commercial. I’m going to keep fighting for it. I hope you will, too.

– Terra Heilman (@waste_not), “New Toys R Us ad campaign is the perfect example of the clash between business-as-usual and nature,” The Reuser (blog), October 22, 2013

The Toys”R”Us commercial in question is here. It prompted me to start the Facebook page Boycott Toys”R”Us and Play Outside. Almost 200 people have liked it, and I have shared a lot of links to posts/articles about the commercial, including links to three petitions:

– Tell Toys ‘R’ Us to take down its irresponsible ad encouraging kids to reject the outdoors! (through Facebook)
– Toys R Us: Stop pushing consumerism at the expense of education and experiences in nature for children
– Tell Toys R Us: Pull the Anti-Environmental Education Ad

Two videos that Terra (in Vancouver, WA) and a friend (in Portland) made in response are worth watching, too:

This entry was posted in advertising, audio/video, thoughts, toys. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Monday thought of the week: the woods as my playground (& petitions about anti-nature ad from Toys”R”Us)

  1. Kim says:

    LOVE IT!!!!

Leave a comment